Granite mining village and neighbouring settlements with lighthouse and traditional inns near Cornwall’s most important and spectacular section of heritage mining coast. Pendeen village (East of St Just) and surrounding ancient granite agricultural settlements developed with the area’s 19th century tin and copper mines. Since 1900 Pendeen Lighthouse – accessed from a lane opposite the village car park – has been situated on one of the most dangerous and dramatic stretches of Britain’s coastline (filmed for the “Poldark” TV series). From here there are glorious coastal walks east to Portheras beach and west past many reminders of the mining industry that dominated this area – Levant mine and beam engine, a working steam-powered beam engine and historic site owned by the National Trust; Geevor, the largest mining history site in the UK; and the Crowns engine houses, dramatically perched on the coast at nearby Botallack. The Count House, Botallack (National Trust) contains information about the Crowns and other industrial heritage sites in the area including its calciners, the finest surviving arsenic-refining works in Britain. Numerous traditional mining pubs, hotels and eating-houses offer local produce. Art galleries and a Gem and Jewellery Workshop are on the main road and the nearby Pendeen Manor (providing B&B and refreshments) is a listed 17th century manor with fogou (or prehistoric underground chamber).
Built 1852 and designed by the Vicar, Robert Aitkien based on the ground-plan of Iona Abbey. Uses granite quarried from the Carn above the church and has fine east window. Surrounded by imposing castellated walls with a Gothic gateway.
Pendeen, off B3306 coast road from St Just to St Ives